

## New Mexico Racing Commission 4900 Alameda NE Albuquerque, NM 87113

Ruling #: 2017-SRP-97
Track SunRay Park
Ruling Date: 6/23/2017

Licensee: JOHNSON, DONNIE EUGENE

License Type: 2016 3 Year Owner Applicant Id: 34430

License Number: 282949

Ruling # 2017-SRP-97

Action Type: Initial Ruling

Ruling:

Owner Donnie E. Johnson, having been duly notified and appearing through Trainer Cody Reynolds before the **Board Of Stewards on May 19, 2017, regarding a lab report from UC/Davis (official testing laboratory for the NMSRC)**, for a confirmed positive for the therapeutic drug, Dexamethasone (class 4 penalty category C drug) found in test sample <a href="MM25186"><u>NM25186</u></a> taken from the horse "**Eaglelistic**" who finished 1st in the 8th race, on March 10, 2017, at Sunland Park Racetrack in Sunland Park, NM.

The original lab report indicated a finding of **Dexamethasone at 186 pg/ml in the blood.** the allowable limit for Dexamethasone is 5 pg/ml in the blood. Sample rights as provided in **15.2.6.10 (D) NMAC**, were afforded to and confirmed by Texas A & M Laboratory at 156pg/ml +/- 60.

## Licensee is found to be in violation of:

15.2.6.9(C)(1): Prima Facie Evidence A finding by the commission approved laboratory of a prohibited drug, chemical or other substance in a test specimen of a horse is prima facie evidence that the prohibited drug, chemical or other substance was administered to the horse and, in the case of a post-race test, was present in the horse's body while it was participating in a race. Prohibited substances include: drugs or medications for which no acceptable levels have been established; therapeutic medications in excess of established acceptable levels; substances present in the horse in excess of levels at which such substances could occur naturally; substances foreign to a horse at levels that cause interference with testing procedures.

For Donnie E. Johnson's First Class 4C medication violation, in a 365-day period, issued in accordance with 15.2.6.9 (B)(4), the Board of Stewards assessed a penalty as follows:

WARNING: Your next Class 4C will result in Disqualification and loss of purse.

## This ruling is written in accordance with:

**15.2.6.9 CLASS 4 UNIFORM CLASSIFICATION GUIDELINES** This category is comprised primarily of therapeutic medications routinely used in race horses. These may influence performance, but generally have a more limited ability to do so.

15.2.3.8 B (3)(f) Stewards Disciplinary Action 15.2.3.8 B (3)(a) Stewards Disciplinary Action 15.2.3.8 B (1) (d) Stewards General Authority 16.47.1.8 (T) KNOWLEDGE OF RULES

15.2.1.9(B)(9)(b): Appeal Procedures Which states in pertinent part that "An appeal under this section must be filed not later than 10 days after the date of the ruling. If the deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the period is extended to include the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday. The appeal must be received by noon, at the main commission offices or with the stewards who issued the ruling and must be accompanied by a fee in the amount of \$500. The fee must be in the form of cash, a cashier's check, money order or personal check."

By Order of The SunRay Park Stewards



## New Mexico Racing Commission 4900 Alameda NE Albuquerque, NM 87113

Ruling #: 2017-SRP-97
Track SunRay Park
Ruling Date: 6/23/2017

Licensee: JOHNSON, DONNIE EUGENE

License Type: 2016 3 Year Owner Applicant Id: 34430

License Number: 282949

Appeal Filing Deadline: 15.2.1.9(B) (9) (b) NMAC: Which states in pertinent part that "An appeal under this section must be filed not later than 10 days from the date of the ruling. The appeal must be filed at the main Commission offices, or with the Stewards who issued the ruling.