

## NOTICE OF RIGHT TO INSPECT PUBLIC RECORDS 03/02/2022

By law, under the Inspection of Public Records Act, every person has the right to inspect public records of the New Mexico Racing Commission. The Act also makes compliance with requests to inspect public records an integral part of the routine duties of the officers and employees of the New Mexico Racing Commission.

Requests to inspect public records should be submitted to Richard Bustamante, Records Custodian, located at 4900 Alameda Blvd NE Suite A, Albuquerque, NM 87113, telephone 505-222-0700, e-mail address: richardp.bustamante@state.nm.us.

A person desiring to inspect public records may submit a request to the records custodian orally or in writing. However, the procedures and penalties prescribed by the Act apply only to written requests. A written request must contain the name, address, and telephone number of the person making the request. The request must describe the records sought in sufficient detail to enable the records custodian to identify and locate the requested records.

The records custodian must permit inspection immediately or as soon as practicable, but no later than fifteen (15) calendar days after the records custodian receives the inspection request. If inspection is not permitted within three (3) business days, the person making the request will receive a written response explaining when the records will be available for inspection or when the public body will respond to the request. If any of the records sought are not available for public inspection, the person making the request is entitled to a written response from the records custodian explaining the reasons inspection has been denied. The written denial shall be delivered or mailed within fifteen (15) calendar days after the records custodian received the request for inspection.

If a person requesting inspection would like a copy of a public record, a reasonable fee may be charged. The fee for documents eleven inches by seventeen inches or smaller is \$1.00 per page. The fee for large documents is \$1.00 per page. For records other than documents, the reasonable fee is \$10.00 per standard-size tape. The records custodian may request that applicable fees for copying public records be paid in advance before the copies are made. A receipt indicating that the fees have been paid for making copies of public records will be provided upon request to the person requesting the copies.