New Mexico Racing Commission

NEW MExCo 2 4900 Alameda NE
RACING Albuquerque, NM 87113
COMMISSION Ruling #: 2023-SUN-36
Track Sunland Park
Ruling Date: 2/21/2023
Licensee: DYER, MARK D.

License Type: 2021 3 Year Owner Applicant 1d: 4235
License Number: 301325

Ruling # 2023-SUN-36
Action Type: Modified Ruling
Ruling:

Owner, Mark Dyer have been duly noticed, appeared telephonically before the Sunland Park Board
of Stewards without counsel, on Sunday, February 12, 2023, at 8:30 A.M. to hear the facts and
consider the following: Purse Redistribution, after two horses tattooed under the incorrect names,
"Aim Happy" was tattooed as the horse "Spirita" and "Spirita" was tattooed as "Aim Happy". Mr. Mark
Dyer was the owner of record for the horse "Aim Happy."

After hearing all the facts presented by NMRC State Investigator Elizabeth Garcia and Mr. Dyer, and
considering the testimony provided along with the outcome of a hearing held for Trainer, Justin
Evans in this same matter. The Sunland Park Board of Stewards have determined that in fact the
two horses were entered and participated under the wrong identification in the 8th race at Sunland
Park on May 3, 2019,ﬁ he horse that ran as "Aim Happy" was in fact the horse "Spirita" and is
hereby disqualified and unplaced:

{Mr. Dyer will be required to repay the purse to the appropriate bookkeeping offices no later than 90
days from today. Thursday, June 28, 2023.)

SUNLAND PARK - May 3, 2019

Race 9 CLAIMING - Thoroughbred FOR FILLIES AND MARES THREE YEARS OLD AND
UPWARD WHICH HAVE NEVER WON TWO RACES OR (NEW MEXICO BREDS NON-WINNERS
OF THREE RACES LIFETIME). Weight, 120 Ibs.; Older, 123 Ibs. Claiming Price $5,000. New
Mexico Bred Claiming Price $6,250. ( C) Claiming Price: $6,250 - $5,000 Five And One Half
Furlongs On The Dirt Track Record: (Fearless Anthony - 1:01.62 - February 12, 2008) Purse: $8,700
Plus: $418 NMHBA - New Mexico Horse Breeders Assoc. Available Money: $9,118 . Value of Race:
$9,118 1st $5,220, 2nd $2,158, 3rd $870, 4th $435, 5th $261, 6th $174

1st 2 Twentyfour

2nd 9 Lucky Belle

3rd 5 Dublins Wildberry

4th 10 Can't Get Away

5th 8 Hunka Bull

6th 4 Sheza Dandy R F

7th 11 Lady Higbhee

8th 7 Taraiji

th 6 Little Red Flyer

Disqualified - UNPLACED: 3 Spirita (Amount to be repaid: 1st $5,220.)

15.2.5.12 (A}(4) HORSE INELIGIBLE,

16.47.1.8 (L)(1)(e)(i) GENERAL PROVISIONS,

16.47.1.8 (T) KNOWLEDGE OF RULES, 15.2.5.13 E (4) (d) Disqualification and purse distribution
and NMSA Section 60-1A-5 (C) Commission rules; all licenses; suspension, revocation or denial of
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licenses; penalties. (Repealed effective July 1, 2022.) and if so, whether a penalty or other
disciplinary action should be imposed upon you for the alleged rule violation(s) by the Board of
Stewards.

NMAC 15.2 38 B (1) (3) {f} (g) (i} STEWARDS: (1) General Authority. The stewards for each
meeting shall be responsible to the commission for the conduct of the race meeting in accordance
with the laws of this state and these rules. (3} (e) The stewards may impose any of the following
penalties on a licensee for a violation of the act or these rules: issue a reprimand; assess a fine;
require forfeiture or redistribution of purse or award, when specified by applicable rules and at their
discretion. place a licensee on probalion; suspend a license or racing privileges; revoke a license;
exclude from grounds under the jurisdiction of the commission. (f) The stewards may order that a
person be ineligible for licensing; or they may deny a license to an applicant on grounds set forth by
these rules. {i) The stewards may refer any matler to the commission and may include
recommendations for disposition. The absence of a steward's referral shall not preclude the
commission action in any matter.

15.2.1.9(B}9)(B). APPEAL PROCEDURES, which states “An appeal under this section must be filed
not later than 10 days after the day of the ruling If the deadline falls on a Sunday or a legal holiday,
the period is extended to the next day that 1s not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. The appeal
must be received by noon at the main commission offices or with the Stewards who issued the ruling
and must be accompanied by a fee in the amount of $400.00 dollars. The fee must be in the form of
a cashier's check or a money order. The last day to file an appeal is April 12, 2023.

By Order of The Sunland Park Stewards
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