New Mexico Racing Commission
oW v 4900 Alameda NE
RACING Albuquerque, NM 87113

COMMISSION Ruling #: 2024-SRP-3
Track SunRay Park
Ruling Date: 4/13/2024
Licensee: LAVANWAY, DAYSON
License Type: 2022 3 Year Trainer Applicant Id: 158653

License Number: 305719

Ruling # 2024-5RP-3
Action Type: Initial Ruling
Ruling:

Trainer, Dayson LaVanway having been properly summoned and having appeared before the
Sunray Park Board of Stewards on April 13, 2024, and having waived his right to a 10-day notice and
formal disciplinary hearing for entering an ineligible horse (Arizona Claim Rule).“Brannigan” in the 9th
race on April 13,2024 which necessitated a late scratch at SunRay Park,

For this violation, the Board of Stewards assess the following penalty:

1.A fine in the amount of Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00). The fine is to be paid on or before April 27,
2024. Failure to pay the fine within the prescribed time shall result in an immediate suspension.
Pursuant to Rule 15.2.1.9 A(7)(f) NMAC. All fines imposed by the stewards shall be paid to the
commission within 14 days after the ruling is issued, unless otherwise noted, in accordance with Rule
15.2.3.8 (B)}(3Xe)(i),

Licensee is found to be in violation of:

15.2.5.8 (B)(7) Procedure for Entering: The person making an entry shall clearly designate the horse
so entered.

16.47.1.10 (C)(17) (18) Trainer Responsibility: The trainer is responsible for representing an owner in
making entries and scratches and in all other matters pertaining to racing; horses entered as to
eligibility and weight or other allowances claimed.

This ruling is written in accordance with:

156.2.1.9 A (4)(c) Last Known Address

15.2.3.8 B (1) (a-e) Stewards General Authority.
15.2.3.8 B (3) (a & e) Stewards Disciplinary Action.
15.2.3.8 B (3)(f) Stewards Disciplinary Action
16.47.1.8. (T) KNOWLEDGE OF RULES:
16.47.1.3 Statutory Authority

16.47.1.8 (A)(1) License Required

16.47.1.8 (A)}{2) License Required

15.2.1.9. (b) An appeal under this section must be filed not later than 10 days after the date of the
ruling. If the deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the period is extended to include
the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday. The appeal must be received by noon,
at the main commission 15.2.1 NMAC 14 offices or with the stewards who issued the ruling and must
be accompanied by a fee in the amount of $400. The fee must be in the form of a money order,
cashier's check or a corporate check. Last date of appeal: Last date of appeal April 23, 2024.
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By Order of The SunRay Park Stewards
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New Mexico Racing Commission
P — 4900 Alameda NE
RACING Albuquerque, NM 87113

COMMISSION Ruling #: 2024-SRP-4
Track SunRay Park
Ruling Date: 4/13/2024
Licensee: VAUGHN, LONNIE H
License Type: 2021 3 Year Trainer  Applicant Id: 5496

License Number: 301257

Ruling # 2024-SRP-4
Action Type: Initial Ruling
Ruling:

Trainer Lonnie Vaughn having been properly summoned and having appeared telephonically before
the Sunray Park Board of Stewards on April 13, 2024, waived his right to a 10-day notice and formal
disciplinary hearing for his horse "Spit Prize Corona" who was late to the paddock for the 7th race on
April 12, 2024, necessitating a late scratch and pari - mutuel refunds at SunRay Park Racetrack.
Pursuant to Rule 15.2.4.8(C)(1) Any horse entered in a claiming race that is not present in the
paddock at least 10 minutes to post will be scratched.

The Board of Stewards hereby assess the following penalty:

1. A fine of Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) which must be paid on or before April 27, 2024, in
accordance with 15.2.3.8 (B)(3)(e)(i). Failure to pay the fine within the prescribed time shall result in
an immediate suspension. Pursuant to Rule 15.2.1.9 (A)(7)(f ) All fines imposed by the stewards
shall be paid to the commission within 14 after the ruling is issued, unless otherwise ordered.

Licensee is found to be in violation of and this ruling is written in accordance with:

15.2.1.9.A (8)(c) Due Process Displinary Action

15.2.3.8 B (3)(f) Stewards Disciplinary Action

15.2.3.8 B (3)(A) Stewards Disciplinary Action

15.2.3.8 B (1) (d) Stewards General Authority

16.47.1.8. T. Knowledge of Rules:

16.47.1.3 Statutory Authority

16.47.1.8 (A)(1) License Required

16.47.1.8 (A)(2) License Required

16.47.1.8(N)(1) Last Known Address

15.2.1.9(B)(9)(A) FAILURE TO APPEAL 15.2.1.9(B)(9)(B): APPEAL PROCEDURES, which states
“An appeal under this section must be filed not later than 10 days after the day of the ruling. If the
deadline falls on a Sunday or a legal holiday, the period is extended to the next day that is not a
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. The appeal must be received by noon at the main commission
offices or with the Stewards who issued the ruling and must be accompanied by a fee in the amount
of $400.00 dollars. The fee must be in the form of a cashier’'s check or a money order. The last day

to file an appeal is April 23, 2024.
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By Order of The SunRay Park Stewards

st Syt




New Mexico Racing Commission
ew J"@ 4900 Alameda NE

RACING Albuguergue, NM 87113

COMMISSION Ruling #: 2024-SRP-5
Track SunRay Park
Ruling Date: 4/14/2024
Licensee: COBOS-BARRAZA, BRIAN
License Type: 2022 3 Year Jockeyv Applicant 1d: 161317

License Number: 306144

Ruling # 2024-SRP-5
Action Type: Initial Ruling
Ruling:

Jockey Brian Cobos-Barraza, having been properly summoned and having appeared before the
SunRay Park Board of Stewards on Aprit 13, 2024, and having waived his right to a 10-day notice
and formal disciplinary hearing for excessive use of whip causing multiple welts on the flank, while
aboard “Buckie Jones” in the 7th Race April 12, 2024, at SunRay Park.

Found to be in violation of Commission rules: Rule 15.2.5.13 E (8)(a){(9)(c).

The Sunray Park Board of Stewards hereby assess the following penaity:

1. A fine of One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) and a 7 day suspension to be served from April 22,
2024 through April 28, 2024, in accordance with 15.2.3.8 (B){3){e)(i). This fine must be paid on or
before April 28, 2024. Failure to pay the fine within the prescribed time shall result in an immediate
suspension. All fines imposed by the stewards shall be paid to the commission within 14 days after
the ruling is issued, unless otherwise ordered. {Pursuant to Rule 15.2.1.9 A(7){f) NMAC)

Mr. Barraza may ride in desiginated races.

Licensee is found to be in violation of this ruling which is written in accordance with:
15.2.5.13(E)(6)(e) Use of riding crops. Indiscriminate use of the whip is prohibited including whipping
a horse: on the head, flanks or on any other part of its body other than the shouiders or hind quarters
except when necessary to control a horse; during the post parade or after the finish of the race
except when necessary to control the horse; excessively or brutally causing welts or breaks in the
skin; when the horse is clearly out of the race or has obtained its maximum placing; persistentiy even
though the horse is showing no response under the riding crop; or striking another rider or horse.

15.2.1.9(B}{4)(A)NMAC Notice Except as provided by these rules regarding summary suspension,
jockey riding infractions and trial races, the stewards or a racing commission designee shall provide
written notice, at least 10 days before the hearing, to a person who is the subject of a disciplinary
hearing. The person may waive their right to 10 days notice by executing a written waiver.

15.2.1.9 A (4)(c) Last Known Address

15.2.3.8 B (3)(f) Stewards Disciplinary Action

15.2.3.8 B (3)(A) Stewards Disciplinary Action

15.2.3.8 B (1) (d) Stewards General Authority

16.47.1.8. (T) KNOWLEDGE OF RULES:

16.47.1.3 Statutory Authority

16.47.1.8 (A)(1) License Required

16.47.1.8 (A)(2) License Required

15.2.1.9(b): Which states in pertinent part that "An appeal under this section must be filed not later
than 10 days after the date of the ruling. If the deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday,
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the period is extended to include the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday. The
appeal must be received by noon, at the main commission offices or with the stewards who issued
the ruling and must be accompanied by a fee in the amount of $400. The fee must be in the form of
a cashier's check, money order." The last day to file an appeal is April 24, 2024.

By Order of The SunRay Park Stewards



New Mexico Racing Commission
" m‘o‘;"/@ 4900 Alameda NE

RACING Albuquerque, NM 87113

e Ruling #: 2024-SRP-6
Track SunRay Park
Ruling Date: 4/13/2024
Licensee: FLORES, MARCO ANTONIO
License Type: 2021 3 Year Trainer  Applicant Id: 33697

License Number: 301923

Ruling # 2024-SRP-6
Action Type: Initial Ruling
Ruling:

Trainer Marco Flores having been properly summoned and having appeared before the
SunRay Park Board of Stewards on April 13, 2024, and having waived his 10-day notice and
formal disciplinary hearing for failure to have the correct horse "Fireside Chat" in the
paddock for the 12th race on April 12, 2024, at SunRay Park, necessitating a late scratch
and pari-mutuel wagering refunds.

The Board of Stewards hereby assess the following penalty.:

A fine of Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) which must be paid on or before April 27, 2024.
Failure to pay the fine within the prescribed time may result in immediate suspension.
Pursuant to Rule 15.2.1.9: A(7)(f) All fines imposed by the stewards shall be paid to the
commission within 14 days after the ruling is issued, unless otherwise ordered.

Licensee is found to be in violation of and this ruling is written in accordance with:
| 15.2.1.9. A (4)(c) Last Known Address
 15.2.3.8 B (A)(4) Racing Officials

15.2.3.8 B (1) General Authority

15.2.3.8 B (3) (e)(h)(l) Disciplinary Action

15.2.1.9 (A)(4)(c) DUE PROCESS AND DISCIPLINARY ACTION:

15.2.6.11 E (1) Trainer Responsibility

16.47.1.3 Statutory Authority

16.47.1.8 (A)(1)(2) License Required

16.47.1.8. (T) Knowledge of Rules

15.2.1.9(B)(9)(A) FAILURE TO APPEAL 15.2.1.9(B)(9)(B): APPEAL PROCEDURES, which
states “An appeal under this section must be filed not later than 10 days after the day of the
ruling. If the deadline falls on a Sunday or a legal holiday, the period is extended to the next
day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. The appeal must be received by noon at
the main commission offices or with the Stewards who issued the ruling and must be
accompanied by a fee in the amount of $400.00 dollars. The fee must be in the form of a
cashier’s check or a money order. The last day to file an appeal is April 23, 2024.

y Order of The SunRay Park Stewards ﬁ L(j ’ :
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New Mexico Racing Commission
oW o R 4900 Alameda NE
RACING Albuguerque, NM 87113

COMMISSION Ruling #: 2024-SRP-7
Track SunRay Park
Ruling Date: 4/15/2024
Licensee: GARCIA-PENA, ALEX O
License Type: 2023 3 Year Trainer  Applicant Id: 161823

License Number: 308094

Ruling # 2024-SRP-7
Action Type; Initial Ruling
Ruling:

Trainer Alex Garcia having been properly summoned and having appeared before the Board of
Stewards at SunRay Park on April 14, 2024, and having waived his right to a 10 day hearing
and formal hearing for failure to have a current Coggins certificate on file in the racing office
for the horse "Drue Be Fast" for the 4th race on April 14, 2024 at SunRay Park which resulted
in a late scratch.

The Board of Stewards hereby assess the following penalty:

1. A fine of Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) which must be paid on or before Aprii 29. 2024. in
accordance with NMAC 15.2.3.8 (B)(3)(e)(i). This fine is to be paid on or before April 28. 2024,
Failure to pay the fine within the prescribed time may result in immediate suspension. All fines
imposed by the stewards shall be paid to the commission within 14 days after the ruling is issued.
unless otherwise ordered. (Pursuant to Rule NMAC 15.2.1.9: A (7)(f))

Licensee is found to be in violation of and this ruling is written in accordance with
15.2.5.12(A)(26) HORSES INELIGIBLE:

A. A horse shall be ineligible to start in a race when:

(26) there is no current negative test certificate for equine infectious anemia on file with the
racing office, as required by the commission

This ruling in written in accordance with NMAC:

15.2.,1.9 A (4)(c) Last Known Address

15.2.3.8 B (3)(f) Stewards Disciplinary Action

15.2.3.8 B (3)(A) Stewards Disciplinary Action

15.2.3.8 B (1) (d) Stewards General Authority

16.47.1.8. T Knowledge Of Rules

16.47.1.3 Statutory Authority

16.47.1.8 (A)(1) License Required

16.47.1.8 (A)(2) License Required

15.2.1.9(B)(9)(b): Appeal Procedures. Which states “An appeal under this section must be filed not
later than 10 days after the day of the ruling. If the deadline falls on a Sunday or a legal holiday, the
period is extended to the next day that is not a Saturday. Sunday. or legal holiday. The appeal must be
received by noon at the main commission offices or with the Stewards who issued the ruling and must
be accompanied by a fee in the amount of $400.00 dollars. The fee must be in the form of a cashier’s
check or a money order. Last day to file is April 25th, 2024.
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By Order of The SunRay Park Stewards




